The Judge Advocates Association, the Judge Advocates Foundation, and the American Bar Association present a number of awards to Judge Advocates on an annual basis. 


The Chief Justice John Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award is the Judge Advocate Foundation’s highest award.  The Foundation established the award, commemorating Chief Justice Marshall, a Continental Army Officer and Judge Advocate, to honor individuals who served as a judge advocate and who separated from military service after meeting their required term of service, and subsequently made great contributions and achievements outside of the military legal sector. To learn more, please contact the Foundation’s Executive Director at


The Robinson O. Everett Distinguished Life Service Award honors individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of dedicated service to the principles of military and veterans law and justice and devotion to the mission and objectives of the Association and its members.  The Award was first presented to Chief Judge Robinson O. Everett of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces. The Association then received permission from Judge Everett to name the award after him. The award is the Judge Advocates Association’s highest award. To learn more, please contact the Association’s Executive Director at


The Judge Advocates Foundation presents its Major General William K. Suter Distinguished Judicial Service Award to a trial or appellate judge serving in the active, reserve, guard, or civilian in the Armed Services. The annual recipient of the award is selected based on military and judicial accomplishments, unquestionable integrity, and community service. The award was created in 2007 and was named after Major General Suter who served as Clerk of the U.S. Supreme Court from 1991 until his retirement in 2013.  Major General Suter is widely recognized for his commitment to the judicial community and the Armed Forces. For more information about these awards, please contact the Foundation’s Executive Director at:


This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the Armed Services by career attorneys serving as Judge Advocates. The awards are presented at a banquet held each year in the National Capital Region.  Each service is invited to nominate candidates who are serving on active duty or in a reserve or guard status.  The Judge Advocate General of each branch of service, along with the Staff Judge Advocate to the Commandant of the Marine Corps, participate in the selection process.  Nominees must be at least 35 years of age and have a demonstrated record of outstanding professional accomplishments, service to community, service to the legal profession, and development of subordinates. For more information about this award, contact the Association’s Executive Director at:


This ABA award recognizes outstanding contributions to the practice of military law. At the request of the ABA, the JAA Awards Committee evaluates all nominations submitted for this award. The JAA provides the list of winners for each service to the ABA. Nominees must be a licensed attorney who is on active duty and who is under the age of 36 (or first admitted to practice by his or her bar, within the past five years).  Nominees are not required to be members of the American Bar Association.  The award is presented at the ABA annual meeting.  Nominations are due annually to a point of contact designated each year by each service. Please consult the ABA website for details at and see this year’s winners at

Facebook Feed
Judge Advocates Association
Judge Advocates Association2 days ago
Thank you to our great panelists and audience for JAA's Judiciary Panel, up next is JAG to Academia on 14 August 2024 at noon eastern. Register at:
Upcoming Events

2024 Annual Awards Dinner – 16 May 2024

May 16, 2024 to May 16, 2024
6:00 pm to 9:00 pm